Uganda is a landlocked country located in East Africa across the equator, with a total area of 241,038sq km. The country is bordered by South Sudan (north); Kenya (East) Tanzania (South): Rwanda (South-West); and Democratic Republic of Congo (West). Lake Victoria, for which Uganda shares 46%, forms part of the South-Eastern frontier – joining both Kenya and Tanzania. Its territory consists of plains, hills, mountains, lakes and rivers. It is the source of the Nile – the longest river in Africa, and has other big fresh water lakes like Kyoga, Albert, Edward and George. Uganda also has fertile soils which supports the agricultural sector.

 Uganda is strategically located at the heart of Africa, a region that includes some of Africa’s most economically important and resource rich countries with a substantial market and immense future potential.

 Uganda’s equatorial climate provides sufficient sunshine, moderated by the relatively high altitude of most areas of the country. Mean annual temperatures range from 16° C in the south-western highlands; to 25° C in the northwest; but in the northeast, temperatures exceed 30°C for 254 days per year. Daytime temperatures average about eight to ten degrees warmer than night time temperatures in the Lake Victoria region, and temperatures are generally about fourteen degrees lower in the southwest.

 Except in the north-eastern corner of the country, rainfall is well distributed. The southern region has two rainy seasons, usually beginning in early April and again in October. Little rain falls in June and December. In the north, occasional rains occur between April and October, while the period from November to March is often very dry. Mean annual rainfall near Lake Victoria often exceeds 2,100 millimeters, and the mountainous regions of the southwest receive more than 1,500 millimeters of rainfall yearly. The lowest mean annual rainfall in the northeast measures about 500 millimeters.